If you’ve been arrested for a hit and run with a death, you may be wondering how long you’ll have to spend in jail. As you’ll learn, a felony hit and run charge carries a maximum jail term of one year, though it can be reduced to a misdemeanor in some states. Regardless of the jail term, you’ll be prohibited from driving for a certain amount of time, and your driver’s license will be suspended.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Montag Law consultation prices)
A hit-and-run charge is a criminal offense, but in most cases, a hit-and-run conviction carries administrative penalties that are not jail time. These penalties are imposed through the individual state’s Department of Motor Vehicles. A hit-and-run conviction can result in a driver’s license suspension for three years or more. In some states, the driver may also face life-long license revocation. Whether you face these penalties will depend on the severity of the accident.
If the victim died in the accident, you’ll face additional charges, such as vehicular manslaughter or reckless driving. Other factors can affect the severity of punishment. For example, in Nevada, a driver who leaves the scene of a hit-and-run can face up to 20 years in jail and lose their driver’s license for a year. In addition, you’ll have to pay a fine if you fail to stop after you hit someone.
A hit-and-run charge can be reduced to a misdemeaner, depending on the circumstances of the crash. Although the penalties for the offense vary by state, in general, the offense carries a minimum prison sentence of two years and a fine of up to $10,000. The penalty is significantly less severe for a person who leaves the scene of an accident that does not result in a death.
In California, it is illegal to leave the scene of a crash that results in injury or death. A person should contact law enforcement to report any accident, even if the accident was not serious. There are laws requiring people to stop and give details about the accident, regardless of whether it’s the fault of the other driver or not. Some people mistakenly think that they aren’t required to stop when they are at fault, but they’re wrong.
The penalties for hit and run with death can be severe. Depending on the severity of the injuries, a driver could lose their license for up to five years. They may also have to pay a $1,000 fine. However, the penalties are far less severe if the accident was minor. In Massachusetts, a driver who causes death or serious injury must stop and give their name, home address, and car registration number to the police. In addition, the Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend their driver’s license automatically. If this is your first offense, driving privileges may be restored after three years and 10 years for subsequent offenses.
In addition to jail time, hit and run convictions can result in a driver’s license suspension, which can last for up to three years. In some states, a driver’s license can be permanently revoked for life. Depending on the state you reside in, a hit and run conviction may also affect your ability to obtain a driver’t license.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200