How Much Is A Hit And Run Settlement?

How Much Is a Hit and Run Settlement? 

Whether you are entitled to a hit and run settlement will depend on several factors. This includes whether the driver lacked insurance or did not have any coverage. There are also certain factors that can affect the amount of the settlement. For example, if the driver was uninsured, the settlement will be lower than if the driver had sufficient coverage. Likewise, if the driver was at fault, the settlement will be higher. 

(Looking for a Collision Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Car Injury Attorney)

Shared fault is not a factor in determining a hit-and-run settlement

When you file a hit and run lawsuit, your insurance company will determine who is at fault based on a combination of factors, including your level of fault and the fault of the other party. Depending on the circumstances of the case, your insurer may assign a percentage of fault to one party or the other. For example, if you were driving 25 miles over the speed limit when you hit another vehicle, you may be considered at least 50 percent at fault. 

In many cases, the insurance company of the other driver will cover some expenses regardless of who is at fault. This coverage is also known as “medical benefits insurance.” Ultimately, the insurance company can settle a hit and run claim for as much as the policy limits of the other driver. 

Uninsured motorist coverage is required 

When pursuing a hit-and-run settlement, it’s essential to identify the other driver’s uninsured motorist coverage. This coverage pays for your injuries when the other driver doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages. In some cases, this coverage will also cover your losses if you’re the one who was not insured. 

In New York, it is illegal to leave the scene of an accident, especially if someone was injured or there was substantial damage to property. Before leaving the scene, make sure you exchange contact information with the other driver and wait for the police to arrive. In addition, make sure to note down the make and model of the other driver’s car, as well as the license plate. If you’re the victim of a hit and run, you may be able to collect compensation through your own auto insurance policy. 

If the uninsured motorist driver fails to pay for their damages, you can still file a claim against their auto insurance company. Your auto insurance company should be notified immediately. The insurance company will then be able to pay for your losses, if any. This type of coverage is required for hit-and-run settlements, but it’s not mandatory in all states. 

Limitations on damages under personal injury protection 

The limit on personal injury protection benefits is different from the amount of damages you can recover in a hit and run accident. In Florida, you may sue the driver at fault for any economic or non-economic costs you incur. However, this process often results in a lengthy insurance claim process. 

How Much Is A Hit And Run Settlement? | Montag Law Office