Generally speaking, the sentence for killing someone while drunk driving is a felony. It is often treated as a second-degree crime, and the minimum penalty is two years in prison. If the driver is convicted of gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, the penalty increases to ten years in prison. The penalties may vary depending on the circumstances of the incident. A court can also impose license suspension, fines, or a combination of the two.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Commercial Truck Accident Lawyer)
Depending on the circumstances, the sentence for killing someone while drunk driving can range from five years to 60 years in prison. If gross negligence is found, the sentence can be doubled. Similarly, a driver’s license may be suspended for six months to two years. In California, the BAC of the driver can increase the penalty. In addition, the driver may be required to perform community service. In some cases, the court may require a license renewal for three years after a conviction.
In California, if the driver’s blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 or higher, he or she can be charged with gross vehicular manslaughter while under the influence. This charge can be used in cases where the driver failed to follow traffic rules, failed to obey a lawful order, or ran a red light. It can also be used in cases where the driver drove the wrong way, or on the wrong side of the road. However, the driver did not have any intent to kill or injure the other driver.
In addition to the maximum penalties, DUI-related killings may also be charged as involuntary manslaughter. Involuntary manslaughter is a lesser offense than vehicular manslaughter. Often, involuntary manslaughter charges are filed when a driver is intoxicated but did not cause the death. In other cases, involuntary manslaughter is charged when the driver’s alcohol level was below the legal limit, but his or her intoxication caused the death.
In California, intoxication manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony, which means the defendant must be sentenced to at least two years in prison. If the driver is also convicted of DUI maiming, the sentence may increase to ten years in prison. If the defendant has two or more prior convictions for driving under the influence, the maximum prison term is sixty years. The court may also order supervised probation, license suspension, or community service.
If the defendant was found to be a habitual violator of the law, his or her license may be suspended for three years or more. Additionally, the court may require the defendant to complete community service or to participate in a work release program. In addition, the court may impose a fine of up to $10,000 for intoxication manslaughter.
A driver who is convicted of DUI manslaughter may face mandatory community service, license suspension, or other punishment. If the victim’s family requests it, the court may also require them to pay the defendant’s legal fees. However, in most states, these penalties are based on the circumstances of the crime. It is advisable to consult an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your options.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200