The penalty for a first-time DUI or DWI varies among states and jurisdictions, but in most cases, it is classified as a misdemeanor punishable by no more than six months or a year in jail. In some states, a first-time DUI conviction is accompanied by fines and a mandatory alcohol education program to help prevent another offense.
(Looking For “Car injury compensation“? Contact us today?)
A second or subsequent DUI can be much more severe than a first-time offense. A person who has two DWIs within ten years will face a minimum license revocation of three years and a maximum of one year in prison for each. Those who have been convicted of three or more DWIs in a ten-year period will be prosecuted as a Class 6 felony, have their driver’s license revoked indefinitely and may be subject to permanent forfeiture of their vehicles.
The penalties for a first-offense DUI charge under California’s SS 1192.3 law are a suspended driver’s license, a fine of $250-$500 and an obligation to satisfy the requirements of an alcohol education or rehabilitation program. The law also mandates that drivers convicted of DUI must install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
In many jurisdictions, a driver who refuses to submit to a chemical test will have their license suspended. In addition to the disciplinary action, a refusal will result in a fine. In some jurisdictions, the refusal will result in a longer suspension period than for a DUI.
In New York, an underage driver who is arrested for drinking and driving under the Zero Tolerance Law faces a civil penalty of $125. In addition, the driver’s license is revoked for at least six months, and they will be required to obtain a hardship permit to drive to work or school.
In some states, a driver who refuses to submit a blood or urine drug test will face a revocation of their license for at least one year. In other jurisdictions, a person who is convicted of DWI without the results of a blood or urine test will face a fine and a revocation of their license for an additional year.
In most jurisdictions, a DWI conviction on your record will result in a revocation of your driver’s license for at least one year. A DWI conviction on your record can make it impossible for you to find a job, even if you have a valid license. It can also affect your ability to get a job or rent a home.
A DWI conviction can also damage your reputation, making it difficult to get a job or rent a home. It can also hurt your career as a teacher, nurse, truck driver or another professional. The loss of your job and the possibility of losing your home can be incredibly devastating. It can also lead to a lot of stress and depression. If you’re a parent, it can have an adverse effect on your children’s development and school performance.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200