Getting charged with driving drunk and killing someone can be a very serious matter. If you are facing DUI charges, it is important to understand what the penalties are and what your legal options are. An experienced lawyer can help you to minimize the impact of the charges on your life.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Car Accident Attorneys)
The legal penalty for DUI manslaughter varies from state to state. In most states, the average sentence is ten years in prison. However, if gross negligence is involved, the sentence can climb to 60 years. Other possible penalties include community service work, probation, license suspension, and mandatory rehabilitation. If you are charged with DUI manslaughter, you may also be subject to fines, revocation of your driver’s license, and substance abuse treatment.
If you are convicted of second-degree murder, you will face up to sixteen years in prison. In addition to this, you will have a permanent criminal record and you will be required to undergo substance abuse counseling. You will also have to pay thousands of dollars in fines. If you are charged with second-degree murder, you will have to prove that you were aware that your actions led to the death of another person. The prosecutor may have several options for reducing the charges, such as proving that the defendant was not guilty of first-degree murder or that the accused was not aware of any fact that would be considered “premeditated murder.”
In California, there are two types of second-degree murder: vehicular manslaughter and Watson murder. Vehicular manslaughter involves the negligent act of driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol. In Watson’s murder, a person with a prior DUI conviction kills another person while they are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you are charged with Watson’s murder, you will receive an additional three-to-six-year jail term for each injured person. Those charged with Watson’s murder can also be sentenced to a $10,000 fine.
The maximum prison sentence for a DUI manslaughter charge is six years in California, but if gross negligence is involved, the penalty increases to ten years. The standard first OWI is a misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of 93 days in prison. For a driver who is convicted of DUI manslaughter in two or more previous states, the maximum sentence increases to 15 and 60 years.
Getting arrested for driving drunk and killing someone can be a stressful and frightening experience. It is important to know what the penalties for DUI manslaughter are before you get pulled over by the police. You should not answer questions from the police without a lawyer’s advice. Your attorney can help you prove that you were not at fault and that you were not drunk when you were driving.
If you are charged with driving drunk and killing someone, you should hire an attorney right away. The penalties can be severe, and if you have been arrested for DUI manslaughter, you must find an experienced attorney to represent you.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200