In New York, it is illegal to leave the scene of an accident that results in injury or property damage if you aren’t physically able to provide aid and don’t exchange contact information with other parties involved. This is a violation of VTL 600-2a, which states that you have an obligation to call the police if you’re in an accident that causes serious injuries or death, and to share insurance and personal information with any other drivers involved.
(Looking For “Injury attorney services“? Contact us today?)
Failing to provide the required information can result in fines, court costs and fees, victim restitution, jail time, and driver’s license suspension depending on the severity of the incident and how you have previously behaved as a driver. In addition to the financial penalties, a conviction for leaving the scene of an accident can also cause your car insurance rates to skyrocket.
It’s not uncommon for people to blurt out that they didn’t mean to or something else that implies guilt when a hit-and-run has been issued to them. A New York traffic ticket lawyer can help you fight these claims and make sure that your record is not tarnished.
The most common way for a driver to avoid leaving the scene of an accident is to take photos of any vehicles, pedestrians and other property affected by the crash. This will be necessary if you want to file an insurance claim for the damages.
A hit-and-run in California is not a crime to flee the scene of an accident that caused no property or personal injuries, though you should still document any other information you can, such as the vehicle’s license plate number and name. Sometimes, a driver’s soft-tissue injuries may not manifest until several hours or even a day after the crash.
Injuries can often be hidden, and it’s impossible to know who was at fault for the crash until a medical professional confirms that the victim suffered from an injury, which will require additional testing and possibly further investigation. A defense attorney may be able to prove that you were not guilty of leaving the scene of an accident by using evidence like eyewitness testimony and surveillance video.
If the accident involves property damage, you must report the crash to the authorities within 10 days of the incident. A failure to do so can lead to a fine and possible jail time in the state of New York.
Under New York law, the threshold for property damage is typically listed as $1,000. Injuries are considered serious under the law and can include disfigurement, fractures, loss of a fetus, and damage to various organs or systems (NY ISC SS 5102(d)).
If you’re charged with a hit-and-run in NY, it’s important to consult with an experienced New York criminal attorney as soon as possible after the incident. A skilled hit-and-run attorney can help you understand your rights, protect them against prosecutors, and work with the local authorities to ensure that your case is handled as quickly as possible.