If you hit and run a parked car, it can be a serious traffic violation. Depending on the circumstances, you may be charged with a traffic infraction for leaving the scene without exchanging information with the other party. No-fault insurance will cover damages to a parked car.
(Looking for a Hit and Run Lawyer? Visit us today!)
If you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident without exchanging information with the other driver or reporting damage to the property, you may face serious legal consequences. This traffic infraction imposes serious penalties for violators, including a $250 fine and a possible jail term of up to 15 days. Fortunately, there are some ways to avoid the potential legal consequences.
First, you should consider contacting a traffic attorney. This lawyer will be able to negotiate your ticket so you won’t have to appear in court. This way, you can avoid paying a large fine and wasting time in court. If you have an accident that was your fault, an attorney can negotiate a plea bargain for you.
It is not always possible to file a claim for damage to a parked car without liability insurance. Most jurisdictions require that all registered vehicles carry liability insurance, including those that are left unattended in a garage. A liability insurance policy protects you in the event of a car accident, whether it is your fault or the fault of another party.
No-fault insurance is different from liability or collision insurance. The former pays regardless of who caused the collision, while the latter pays regardless of who was at fault. No-fault auto insurance is not required in all states; most of them follow the tort system. Twelve states, however, have a true no-fault insurance system that limits who can file a lawsuit for damages.
Getting witnesses to a hit-and-run accident is crucial if you want to make an insurance claim. Witnesses can help by giving a statement and by providing other drivers with their names and contact information. Moreover, witnesses can provide valuable information about the accident, which can help police in their investigations.
It is important to take pictures of the accident site, especially the license plates of the two cars. Witnesses are also helpful for insurance companies as they provide an unbiased account of the accident.
If you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run accident and suffered injuries, liability coverage may help pay for your medical bills and other expenses. It may also help pay for lost wages and other costs related to the accident. However, before filing a claim, make sure to gather witness information and write down the other driver’s information, if possible. Moreover, you should contact the insurance company of the driver who hit you to let them know about the incident.
Liability coverage is mandatory for at-fault drivers in Maine and Massachusetts. This coverage covers the damages caused to other cars and people. Under Maine law, drivers must carry liability coverage of at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. In Massachusetts, drivers must carry at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. Liability coverage often includes coverage for medical bills, which is similar to Personal Injury Protection coverage.
If you hit and run a parked car, you should file a lawsuit as soon as possible. Under New York law, you must file a lawsuit for personal injuries within three years of the date of the crash. If the accident involved the death of a person, you may have a longer time frame.
In addition to contacting your insurance company, you should contact the police. The police can document the incident for your insurance company. In addition, you should contact your insurer, take photos of the damage, and make note of the circumstances surrounding the accident.