What Happens If You Are Caught Drunk Driving?

What Happens If You Are Caught Drunk Driving in New York? 

Getting caught drunk driving can lead to jail time and a criminal record. This isn’t just a criminal matter; it can impact your career and personal relationships. Many employers are unwilling to hire applicants with a DUI conviction. Even if your conviction doesn’t result in a major increase in your insurance premiums, you may have to shop around for new coverage. 

(Looking for “attorneys automobile accidents“? Contact us today!)

You can be charged with a DUI in New York for driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or greater. A first-time DWI charge will result in a few days in jail, while a second offense within five years may result in up to 30 days of community service and a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, the judge will require that you install an ignition interlock device in your car. These devices prevent you from starting your vehicle if your blood alcohol content is above the legal limit. 

Your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of six months to a year. However, you have the option of a conditional license, which will allow you to drive for a limited period while your license is suspended. These types of suspensions are only granted by the judge. 

Aside from the monetary penalties, you’ll also lose your freedom to drive for a certain amount of time. This can be a burden on your schedule, especially if you are a college student or working a full-time job. 

You’ll have to show up for an arraignment and court date, and you’ll likely need to hire a lawyer. During a hearing, the prosecutor will reveal any evidence that may support your claim of intoxication. This will include dash-cam footage, as well as other embarrassing items. 

You will also have to complete an SR-22 form with your state DMV, which will prove that you have liability insurance. You will also have to pay a $100 penalty for your suspension. It is important to have a good attorney by your side during these proceedings. 

Aside from the criminal charges, you will also have to deal with fines, which vary widely depending on your location and the nature of the charges. A restricted license is another option for drivers who have been arrested for a DUI. A restricted license, also known as an occupational or monitoring device driver license, enables you to drive on a restricted basis during your license suspension. 

The best way to determine what happens if you are caught drunk driving is to talk to a qualified criminal defense lawyer. He or she can help you decide whether or not to plead guilty or not and can represent you throughout the whole process. You don’t have to get a lawyer for every court hearing, but it’s best to have one when you do have to attend court. In addition, a good lawyer can also fight for your right to drive. 

The most important thing to remember is to never drink and drive. You should always wear a seatbelt, never host parties that involve alcohol, and call a sober friend if you think you might be in trouble. 

What Happens If You Are Caught Drunk Driving? | Montag Law Office