What Can You Get For A Hit-And-Run?

What Can You Get for a Hit-and-Run? 

In a normal car accident, drivers exchange contact information, driver’s license numbers, and insurance details. A hit-and-run, on the other hand, is when one or both drivers flee the scene without providing any kind of identification. It can result in serious consequences, including criminal charges and revocation of your driving privileges. 

(Looking for”Omaha Automobile Collision Lawyer“? Contact us Today!)

A Hit-and-Run can be Charged as a Crime 

If you leave the scene of an accident, it is a crime in most states. Depending on the circumstances of your crash, you could face penalties such as fines, probation, community service, and jail time. If you cause serious injuries or death, your hit-and-run can be charged as a felony. 

How Long Can You Get for a Hit-and-Run? 

In New York, leaving the scene of an accident is a misdemeanor. In addition, you may have to pay a fine and lose your license. 

A first-time hit-and-run offense is a Class C misdemeanor that can result in a $500 fine and a mandatory surcharge of $88. If you are convicted of this offense, your license can be suspended for at least 6 months. 

It’s a good idea to report the incident to law enforcement as soon as possible. This will help to ensure that your information is properly reported and can help police locate the driver who caused the accident. 

You can also report the accident to your auto insurance company, so they can help to file a claim with the at-fault driver. This can help you to better understand your losses and get the compensation that you need after an accident. 

The best way to avoid a hit-and-run is to stay at the scene of an accident until you have a chance to contact the police. This will ensure that the police can collect any identifying information from you or other witnesses and that they can make a thorough report to the court. 

If you are able to find any witnesses, it is important that you ask them questions about the car or its owner. These people might know additional information about the car, such as its registration number or where it was parked. You should also try to find the driver’s name and contact information, if possible. 

Your Next Steps

You might want to take pictures of the car that hit you and its damage to document it for your insurance company and legal team. These pictures might help to identify the driver. If you do not have any pictures, you can ask for them from the police department or your insurance provider. 

Once you have your evidence, you need to call an attorney. An experienced car accident lawyer can work with you to help you get the justice that you deserve after a hit-and-run. 

A good New York hit-and-run attorney will be able to help you understand what to expect from the criminal justice system and how to prepare for your case. They will be able to review the facts of your accident and determine if you can benefit from filing both a criminal complaint and a civil claim against the at-fault driver. 

What Can You Get For A Hit-And-Run? | Montag Law Office