If you are in a hit-and-run accident, the first thing you should do is get a police report. This is very important if you want to be compensated for the accident. It’s also wise to write down the name and contact information of any witnesses you have. These small details may prove useful later on when you file a claim with the police or your lawyer.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Injury Wrongful Death)
After you’ve collected all the necessary information, you should also contact the insurance company of the other driver. Although you may have a right to file a report without making a claim, you risk losing the opportunity to file a claim later. In New York, the law that covers PIP insurance allows you to get compensation for a hit-and-run accident even if the other driver has not been found.
There are several ways to get a police report when reporting a hit-and-run accident. The first way is to go to the police department where the accident occurred and file a request for a copy of the report. You will need to provide a picture ID and pay $10 to get the report. Personal checks are not accepted. Alternatively, you can request a copy of the report online. After 120 days, you can also request a copy of the accident report.
Once the police arrive, take detailed notes about what happened. Write down the physical characteristics of the driver and the car. Also, take notes about the weather conditions.
The criminal penalties for not reporting a hit-and-run accident can vary from state to state. In most cases, the offense is a misdemeanor, but it can also be a felony. Most states define hit-and-run as leaving the scene of an accident with an injury to another person or property.
In addition to fines, motorists may face up to a year in jail. In extreme cases, they may even face four years in prison. Not reporting an accident can also have adverse consequences on their insurance claims. It is essential to report an accident to the MVAIC as soon as possible.
Once you have reported the accident to the police, you should go back to the scene and exchange information with the other driver and any witnesses. It is also wise to take pictures of the vehicle damage and injuries that were sustained. You should also hire an attorney to protect your rights and make sure your case is handled properly.
You can fill out the MV-104AN form to report a hit and run to the police online or visit your local police station. You will need to bring a valid picture ID and pay $10. Personal checks are not accepted. If you are unable to pay the fee in person, you can request a copy of the accident report online.
In New York, the NYPD reports accident reports to the state DMV monthly. Filling out the MV-104 is a legal requirement and the form can help you make your compensation claim.
Filling out the MV-104AN form is important because it will help the police determine who is at fault in a crash. It will also be used by the DMV and insurance companies to determine liability. It is important to file the form with the police as soon as possible. In some cases, you can use the report to file an insurance claim or defend yourself in court.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200