Whether you’ve been charged with a hit-and-run in New York or Mississippi, you’ll want to know the fines and costs associated with this criminal charge. In some cases, you may be able to file a lawsuit and seek monetary compensation for damages caused to you and/or your property. In other cases, a hit-and-run charge can lead to jail time.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: https://montaglawoffice.com)
Fines for a hit-and-run in New York vary depending on the severity of the accident. Fines can be as high as $250 for leaving the scene of an accident and you may also be jailed for up to 15 days. Additionally, you may lose your driver’s license for a period, which can have a significant impact on your life. A criminal conviction for hit-and-run also hurts your car insurance, as the insurance company will likely cancel your policy.
First of all, you should immediately call the police. Even if there are no injuries, it is crucial to report the crash. This will ensure that the police can investigate the accident. In some cases, police may not be able to track the driver’s cell phone, so your chances of being tracked are low. Once the police have confirmed that the accident occurred, they will assess the fines. The fine will depend on the severity of the accident and the injuries suffered. The higher the fine is, the more serious the incident was.
If you have been arrested for hit-and-run driving in Mississippi, you should know that the fines can range from $100 to $5,000. You can also spend up to a year in jail if you are found guilty. In some cases, you can receive both penalties. Depending on the severity of the crime, you could even be charged with a felony, which carries severe penalties and can affect your auto insurance.
The penalties for hit-and-runs in Mississippi get progressively worse based on the severity of the accident. A driver that causes a minor injury can expect to spend anywhere from thirty days to one year in jail, while drivers who cause more catastrophic injuries face five to twenty years in jail. They may also lose their license.
The cost of a hit-and-run ticket can significantly affect your insurance premiums. A study by Bankrate found that full-coverage car insurance premiums in Mississippi increase an average of 57% with a hit-and-run conviction.
Jail time for hit-and-run tickets can vary depending on the severity of the offense. For an infraction, you may face 15 days in jail, while a felony conviction could result in up to five years in prison. Along with jail time comes a criminal record, which can severely hinder your life. Not only will you not be able to obtain a good job, but you may also be barred from driving for a few years.
For a Class B misdemeanor, you must provide insurance information. If you fail to provide this information, you could be fined up to $250. If you caused serious injury, the fine can be as high as $500 or more. If the other driver was killed in the accident, you could also face jail time.