The penalty for killing someone while drunk driving can be severe. It is a felony that carries a ten-year minimum sentence and can range up to 60 years in some states. The consequences are terrible for all involved, and lawmakers are taking a more proactive stance to make sure that the victims of drunk driving accidents are not forgotten.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Truck Driving Accidents Lawyer)
There are many possible outcomes if you are convicted of killing someone while drunk driving. If you are convicted of DUI manslaughter, you could face anywhere from fifteen to thirty years in prison. Other possible consequences include fines and community service, alcohol treatment and alcohol education programs, and even loss of your driver’s license. In addition to these potential consequences, a conviction can result in permanent criminal records.
To be convicted of vehicular manslaughter, a driver must have a BAC of at least.08 percent. The state will decide if the driver acted recklessly or was above the legal limit, or if the driver simply acted negligently. In addition, prosecutors will likely need to prove that the drunk driver was under the influence of prescribed drugs when they caused the accident.
There are many examples of people who have been sentenced to prison for killing someone while drunk driving. One case involves a thrice-convicted drunken driver who hit and killed a pedestrian on Mount Vernon Avenue in 2003. The driver had a blood alcohol content twice the legal limit when the accident occurred. The driver ran a red light on Niles Street and lost control of his car. The vehicle went into a collision with another vehicle and the driver killed the pedestrian.
If you have killed someone by drunk driving and you did not have reasonable cause, you may be charged with vehicular manslaughter. This crime can result in up to four years in state prison, a $10,000 fine, and restitution to the victim’s family. This crime also has enhanced penalties for survivors of deceased persons. Depending on the circumstances, you may face both felony and misdemeanor charges.
In California, you can be charged with vehicular manslaughter if you killed someone while driving a vehicle while intoxicated. This crime is a violation of California’s Vehicle Codes and involves an act of gross negligence, including driving while intoxicated at a high speed.
In addition to having a reasonable explanation for the death, you must be able to show that you acted without reasonable cause. This is a difficult element to prove. You must be able to prove that you had no reasonable cause for killing someone while driving drunk. If you have been drinking alcohol before driving, this may be a good indicator that you were drunk and did not have any reasonable excuse for driving drunk.
When someone is drunk and driving and kills another person, it’s called “gross vehicular manslaughter.” Gross vehicular manslaughter is a serious crime that requires that the person involved act with great negligence or recklessness. In other words, the defendant should not have had a reasonable expectation that the death would occur.
Driving while intoxicated is illegal in many states, and it can be difficult to prove that a person has acted with gross negligence or recklessness. But, if the person was not impaired at the time of the death, they may be liable for vehicular manslaughter. In such cases, the prosecutor must prove that the driver was under the influence and acted with great carelessness, which is a felony.
The law has several different definitions of “gross negligence.” Ordinary negligence refers to indifference to the safety of others. In contrast, gross negligence is a conscious disregard for safety. Examples of gross negligence include speeding while intoxicated, driving at an excessively high rate of speed, or driving on the wrong side of the road.