Fines for drunk driving vary depending on the type of charge and location of the arrest. First-time offenders will often face fines as low as $500, but second-time offenders will face fines that range up to $2,000 and more. A DUI conviction may also result in the installation of an ignition interlock device, which requires the driver to blow into a machine before starting the car.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Big Truck Accidents Attorney)
If you are under the age of 21 and have been arrested for drunk driving, you can be sentenced to probation. While drunk driving is a serious offense that can lead to serious consequences, many judges will consider probation as an alternative to jail time. The court may also impose additional conditions on your probation, such as drug screening or random alcohol testing, community service, or education. A criminal defense attorney can explain the various options available to you, and work to get you the least harsh sentence possible.
A felony DUI conviction can land you in jail for two, three, or even more years, depending on the state’s laws. In addition to jail time, you will likely be subject to a $1,000 fine and you will lose your driving privileges for four years. Even though a felony DUI conviction is a serious charge, there are several ways to defend yourself.
Under the Zero Tolerance Law, a driver under 21 years old who is found to be driving while impaired can be arrested and face up to a year’s suspension of their license and a $125 fine. The charge is also on their record for three years until they reach the age of twenty-one. Moreover, if the driver has a previous drunk driving offense, they will face up to a one-year license suspension and their registration may be suspended.
Texas DUI sentencing is based on the amount of blood alcohol content in the driver’s bloodstream at the time of the arrest. The sentence may be as little as a few days, or as long as a decade, depending on the severity of the offense. Certain aggravating factors can add to the length of jail time. For example, driving under the influence of a minor passenger is punishable by 6 months to two years in state jail.
California DUI sentencing is determined by several factors, including the defendant’s age and previous DUI convictions. Judges also take into account the defendant’s behavior and several other factors to determine the length of the sentence. Typically, defendants with prior DUI convictions will be placed on probation for three to five years, during which time they must complete a drunk driving course and pay fines.
If you’ve been convicted of DUI in Michigan, you should consider a proactive sentencing strategy. This means attempting to speak with the judge about the sentence that is likely to be handed down. While judges are not required to divulge the potential sentence, some do, and it can help you decide how to proceed.
DUI sentencing in Oklahoma varies depending on several factors. The type of DUI charge, the amount of intoxication, and prior convictions will all play a role in sentencing. An additional factor will be the type of court.