Every day, around 29 people are killed in accidents that involve drunk drivers. This is a tragic number and one that could have been avoided.
(Looking for a “rear-end collision auto accident attorney“? Contact us Today!)
Drunk driving is illegal in all states, and drivers who are caught in the act of operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol will face penalties. These can include suspension of your driver’s license, fines, and jail time.
The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration in most jurisdictions is.08%, and drivers who have a higher level will face harsher punishments. The first-offense penalties range from a misdemeanor to a felony, depending on the state’s laws and the details of the case.
Arrests for drunk driving often result from police encounters with impaired drivers. These encounters can happen in many different situations, including when a person drives their own car while under the influence or when they are pulled over for another reason and suspected of being drunk.
When police encounter a driver who they believe to be intoxicated, they may ask them to perform a series of tests to determine their blood alcohol content. This testing can be done with a breathalyzer, a device that measures alcohol in your breath, or a blood test.
If you refuse to submit to a blood test, you can face criminal charges. These charges are a serious issue and should be discussed with an experienced attorney.
It is important to understand the law before you drive after drinking, especially if you are a new driver. The first-time offense can result in a lengthy license suspension and fines. If you are arrested for DUI, an experienced attorney will review all of the details in your case and help you make the best decision possible.
A BAC of 0.08% or higher will lead to an arrest for a DUI in Delaware. However, there are some exceptions to this rule. If you are a juvenile and have a valid driver’s license, you can only be arrested for a DUI if your blood alcohol content exceeds 0.05 percent.
Your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked for at least 1 year after your DUI arrest in Delaware. Your driving privileges will be reinstated after you have completed a DUI program, such as the DMV-approved Alcohol Education and Treatment Program (ADEP).
In addition to losing your driving privileges, a DUI conviction can affect your career. If you are a commercial driver, a conviction can lead to a license suspension for several years or even permanent loss of your ability to drive.
There are also many additional responsibilities and consequences associated with a DUI, which can change your life in ways you never imagined. In the short term, a DUI can result in probation, court-ordered drug and alcohol counseling, driver risk education, and possible jail time.
In the long run, the best outcome for someone charged with a DUI is court supervision. During this period, the person will be required to attend court-ordered counseling, obtain a drug and alcohol evaluation, and complete driver risk education. This will help the person learn how to avoid consuming alcohol and other drugs that may impair their ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.