If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving, you may be wondering how long you’ll spend in jail. Fortunately, you may not have to spend any time behind bars if it’s your first offense. You can get home confinement or work furlough in Texas, and your sentence will depend on the type of offense you’ve received. Read on to learn more about your options.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Our site)
In a few states, first-time DUI offenders do not have to go to jail. A first-time conviction is considered a misdemeanor and carries a maximum sentence of six months in jail. However, first-time offenders rarely have to serve jail time if the offense does not have aggravating factors, such as a refusal to submit to chemical tests or injuring another person. In such cases, the person will only receive a mandatory fine of $500 to $1,000 and be required to install an ignition interlock device for at least a year.
First-time DUI offenders may not have to spend any time in jail, depending on the blood alcohol content (BAC) they were found to have. However, if the person’s BAC was 0.08 or higher, they will likely receive a mandatory one-year license suspension. If the DUI results in the death of another person, the offender will face felony charges of manslaughter or murder.
If you’re facing a DUI charge, one of the best ways to get back on your feet is through alternative sentencing. Depending on your circumstances, these programs can include community service, drug rehabilitation, and more. In some cases, you may even be able to continue working during your sentence, which is a great benefit to those who have lost their jobs due to drunk driving.
One alternative sentencing option for a drunk driving conviction is accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD). This program is designed to allow convicted defendants to continue their recovery in a structured and community environment. If you complete the program, you’ll be released from the criminal charges.
A work furlough for drunk driving is a program that allows a person to remain employed instead of going to jail for a DUI conviction. Most people don’t want to spend time in jail, and one of the major reasons is the prospect of missing work. However, employers aren’t required to keep an employee during a jail sentence, and some will even fire an employee for short absences. This loss of income can be devastating, and a work furlough is an excellent option for people who are facing such a situation.
To participate in a work furlough program, the offender must agree to follow the program’s rules and return to the work furlough facility at the end of every workday. Many participants use public transportation to get to work, but others are allowed to drive to work.
A new bill in Connecticut aims to reduce the number of people incarcerated for drunk driving and make the process easier for offenders. The legislation calls for evaluating first-time DUI offenders for home confinement based on a set of criteria. Typically, first-time DUI offenders receive probation instead of jail time. Second-time offenders receive a minimum of 120 days in jail, and third-time offenders get a minimum of one year in prison. The proposal was drafted by Mothers Against Drunk Driving, a group that hopes to reduce the number of repeat offenders.
The new law allows the Connecticut corrections commissioner to transfer drunk drivers from jail to home confinement. During this time, they will be monitored electronically and have ignition interlock devices installed in their vehicles. Although the home confinement program is expensive, it is an option that can be an affordable alternative to jail.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200