In California, you can be charged with hit and run if you leave the scene of the accident. However, you must file a charge within six years of the incident. This is due to the statute of limitations, which prevents prosecuting officers from bringing charges after six years.
(Looking for a Car Accident Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: https://montaglawoffice.com)
The statute of limitations for hit-and-run charges depends on your state and the type of accident. In most cases, the period is one to three years after the date of the accident. However, in severe cases, the time frame is longer. If the accident is considered a felony, the time frame can be as many as six years.
Hit-and-run charges can be classified as a felony or misdemeanor. In Georgia, it’s possible to file a lawsuit for property damage, and up to two years for bodily injury. However, many states do not have a separate statute of limitations for hit-and-run charges, and instead, use the same timeline for car accidents.
As with other criminal charges, a hit-and-run charge can result in administrative or criminal penalties. In some states, a convicted driver can face jail time, fines, and driver’s license restrictions. If the accident is serious enough, a driver’s license can be suspended for at least six months.
If you were to leave the scene of a car accident and cause property damage, you could be facing criminal penalties. These penalties can range from a $250 fine to 15 days in jail, depending on the severity of the incident. Additionally, if you have been involved in an accident-causing injuries, you may be liable for a fine of as much as $5,000. If you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident, you should consult with an experienced traffic crimes attorney for more information.
One of the best defenses to a charge of leaving the scene of an accident is the mistake of fact defense. This defense is used when a driver leaves the scene of an accident because they were unaware of the accident or did not recognize the damage. For example, a driver may claim that they were waving at another driver and did not notice a scratch on their car. Alternatively, they may argue that they were only concerned with the scratched bumper on their car in the parking lot.
Administrative penalties for hit-and-run accidents are usually imposed by the state’s department of motor vehicles (DMV). In many cases, these penalties can include revocation or suspension of a driver’s license. These penalties can last anywhere from six months to a lifetime.
In addition to jail time, hit-and-run offenders can also face fines. The maximum fine for a first-time offender is $750. Second-time offenders are subject to fines of $1,500 and a mandatory 200 hours of community service. A third-time offender faces a fine of $2,500 and a mandatory 96 hours of prison time.
Administrative penalties for hit-and-run accidents vary from state to state. In some cases, there is a civil suit can be filed against the driver who fled the scene of the accident. A driver who flees the scene of an accident can also face a substantial increase in insurance rates.
Montag Law Office 4151 E Street, Suite 200 Omaha, NE 68107 (402) 334-2200