If you have been in a car accident, you need to know how long after the accident you can get a lawyer. In most states, you have 90 days to file a claim with the Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (MVAIC), which is the state’s insurance agency. You must file a notice of claim within those 90 days to notify the government institution of your impending claim so that it can evaluate and investigate the claim.
(Looking for a Collision Lawyer? Contact us Today! Click here: Tow Truck Accidents)
When you’ve been involved in a car accident, you may be wondering if you have time to file a claim. While you’re probably traumatized emotionally and physically, you may also be wondering if there is a time limit on filing a claim. Every state has its statute of limitations, which is a fixed period after an accident when you can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
You probably don’t have to worry about time limits if you live in one state, but if you travel a lot, it’s important to consider the fact that many states have different rules for determining when you can file a claim. For example, Nevada and Utah have different statutes of limitations for filing a claim after a car accident. While they’re different, some states have two-year time limits, while others have a four-year statute of limitations.
Whether you are the victim of a car accident or the driver who was at fault, it is crucial to contact an attorney as soon as possible. Insurance companies often try to pay out as little as possible when they are claiming an accident. Therefore, a lawyer is essential if you are seeking full compensation for your pain and suffering. An attorney can research the cause of the accident and use this evidence to prove fault on the other side.
You may not realize that you were injured until the day after the accident, and you may have already spoken to the insurance adjuster. Nevertheless, speaking to the insurance company could jeopardize your chances of recovering fully. Getting a lawyer to represent you is essential, and most reputable attorneys offer free consultations. The sooner you contact a lawyer, the sooner you can get the compensation you deserve.
If the cost of hiring a lawyer after a car crash is out of your reach, you may want to consider the services of a personal injury attorney. Lawyers in Manhattan have handled dozens of similar cases and know how to deal with insurance companies to secure maximum compensation for their clients. In addition, many Manhattan car accident lawyers offer free initial consultations and never charge you a dime until the case is settled.
Most car accident attorneys work on a contingency basis, meaning they do not take a fee upfront. Instead, they receive a percentage of the settlement. How much they receive depends on the complexity of the case, state law, and the legal market in your area. A good rule of thumb is that lawyers earn about 33 percent of settlements. However, the cost of hiring a lawyer after a car accident depends on the extent of your case and the amount of compensation you’re entitled to.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident but have not sustained any serious injuries, you may not think you need a lawyer. But in some cases, you may need to consult a lawyer to make sure you get the best compensation for your injuries. Car insurance companies can be particularly tricky when it comes to negotiating with their clients. They can try to get you to settle for quick money, typically $500 to $2,000, even though that amount won’t cover the cost of medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost wages.
The first step after a car accident is to see a doctor. If you are not injured in the accident, you should avoid summoning an ambulance, but seeing a doctor immediately will establish a medical link between your injuries and the accident. This will be critical if you need to negotiate with the at-fault driver’s insurance company or fight for compensation in court. Also, you should document any damage to your vehicle, even if you don’t think it’s serious.